Welcome to Mahindra Truck Forum! CLICK HERE to register so that you can participate on our site.


Get a quote from a Mahindra Dealer
(after the truck's release)

Are you a Mahindra Dealer? Click Here!
Register your dealership on this site.


Go Back   Mahindra Truck Forum > Mahindra Truck Forums > General Truck Forum

General Truck Forum Discuss General things in relation to the Mahindra Trucks

Register for Free to see less Google Ads!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 08:22 AM
ack ack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Independence, MO USA
Posts: 85
Default Amost as funny as getting RickRold...

Register to stop seeing this ad!

Do a search for mahindra truck on ebay.

(do it quickly as it is an auction!)

All laughter aside, you gotta admire the person for his/her foresight...
__________________
Ack
Highly-modified '88 Suzuki Samurai Offroader waiting for a truck to tow it to offroading adventures...

Acks FAQ.com- nearly 600 searchable links to Suzuki/Geo Modding and maintenence info!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 09:13 AM
clubgitmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MS Gulf Coast
Posts: 130
Default

I don't get it... Are you talking about the domain squatter?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 10:09 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 413
Default

uh-oh, now Mahindra knows about them and it's lawyer time! Sic-em, big guy! How dare them have ownership of a site whose name incorporates the letters that make up the word Mahindra. I pity the fool . . . no, wrong comic strip.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 151
Default Good luck

You can't register domains with the idea of reselling them. That is called Cybersquatting and is illegal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cybersquatting

The one legitimate case still lead to the guy losing his pants. A guy named Uzi Nissan owns a business called Nissan Computers and started the web site nissan.com. When Nissan motors found out (they started a web site three years after Uzi did), they sued him. Uzi Nissan eventually won, but only recouped a small portion of his attorney fees.

Last edited by gnorthern; 10-03-2010 at 11:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 05:52 PM
ack ack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Independence, MO USA
Posts: 85
Default

I was aiming for the irony...

Whomever it is who has "squatted" on those domain names probably does not have a chance in H-E-double-toothpicks in making any money...

Then again, it may be just an elaborate ebay joke.

Somebody ocasionally slips one by on ebay...
__________________
Ack
Highly-modified '88 Suzuki Samurai Offroader waiting for a truck to tow it to offroading adventures...

Acks FAQ.com- nearly 600 searchable links to Suzuki/Geo Modding and maintenence info!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 05:58 PM
clubgitmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MS Gulf Coast
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
You can't register domains with the idea of reselling them. That is called Cybersquatting and is illegal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cybersquatting
Not quite that simple. Domain speculation (such as what the Ebay seller is doing) is perfectly legal and quite common. Cybersquatting would involve registering someone else's trade marked name... IE - Someone other than M&M registering Mahindra.com would be illegal, since Mahindra is protected by a federal trademark.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


MahindraTruckForum.com and MahindraTruckBlog.com are in no way affiliated with Mahindra & Mahindra or Global Vehicles. MahindraTruckForum.com and MahindraTruckBlog.com are Mahindra truck enthusiast websites and are owned and operated by DA Enterprises, LLC.

All Automobile Sites

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.1
Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

The Forum Blog